I remember the first day of PA school when they told us to get used to one another because we were going to become family very quickly.  I thought it sounded cliché, but it was very true.  We sit in class together 9 hours a day, 5 days a week.  We study together.  We eat together.  We take walks together.  We go out together.  We play sports together.  We work out together.  Many of us share apartments with each other.  For the most part, we are all each other have here and honestly, we keep each other sane.  I started PA school skeptical of the advice I had been given over and over again.  They told me that studying with a group was the best way to succeed.  I went through all of undergrad rarely studying in the presence of others and almost entirely within my own brain.  I had to get over this quickly.  We learned to have trust in one another and have faith in learning from each other.  One of the many reasons why PA school is so wonderful is because there really is no need for competition.  Be there for each other.  Everyone can use a little help sometimes and putting minds together makes it so much better.

This is not to say that I do not need my alone time.  Sometimes I just have to lay in my bed for a minute and decompress.  Or talk to my mom and dad for 20 minutes.  Or those few nights a month goofing off with friends at the fat frog (the only bar in town).  Don’t forget to take some time to relax.

You have to learn to take the adventure one day at a time.  It seems that as PA students, it is only possible for us to have type A personalities.  Sometimes being with 38 students who are only satisfied with 100%, you can start to misinterpret the point of PA school.  Again, it is not a competition.  It was hard, but I learned fairly quickly that I will not know all of the material immediately.  That it is a process to absorb it all.  That it is acceptable to store random information in my head and accept the fact that they would teach us more on the subject later.  Have confidence.  There is a method to the madness and I think it all comes together eventually.  Still holding out a little bit longer for that confirmation, but I do see it ahead.  Enjoy the journey and know that you are going to be just fine. : )

-Amy F.

