Class Pic orientationHi everybody! My name is Dani Sperry and I’m going to be one of the main blog writers this year. We’re already two months in and a bunch of stuff has happened already and it’s way too much to put into one post so I’m going to break it up into parts and post a few smaller ones to catch you guys up. Sound good? Awesome.

So let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start. (I might have been a musical theater kid) So first day of orientation was amazing. We met up with the new physical therapy students in a huge conference room and were introduced to the University leaders, our program directors, our new professors and more. It was a little overwhelming but not nearly as much as I had anticipated. It was a fun, exciting, “this is gonna be great” attitude. Of course it helped that they had yummy snacks and a great lunch. After a bit we split into our prospective programs. Our class has 38 people and we all took some time to introduce ourselves. I had a, “whoa, these are the people I’m going to be spending the majority of my time with for the next year” moment. Thankfully I had already Facebook stalked some of them and already felt like I had some friends. And we quickly moved passed the awkward “hi” stage and began to get to know one another better.

There was a lot of instruction on that first day, including an overview of the program, brief pictures of the first set of classes, info on the campus library (which is awesome!), and more. Basically it was a helpful, informational day where we were oriented into the program and what to (kind of) expect for the next two plus years of our lives.

It was really at the end of the day when I was sitting at home looking over the notes I had taken that I was really like, “Oh my gosh, this is happening.” I felt like I had been working toward getting into PA school for ages and it was just so weird for me to stop and realized I was actually in a program. For a second it was like, “Phew. I made it, all done.” Then I looked at some of the syllabi for my classes and realized the hard work was really just beginning. 🙂 Don’t get me wrong. It’s a HUGE accomplishment to get into a program, but don’t think the hard work ends there. For me the biggest change from undergrad to PA school was the obvious dedication of the PA faculty for me to succeed. My Elon professors are focused on doing whatever is necessary to help me succeed.

Day two we got another orientation but it was in our awesome Francis Center building. We were given a tour, more information of what was to come, and more one-on-one with the professors.

Day three, it was on. We started our classes and jumped right in. The fist module (or set of classes) for me was a basic review of all of my anatomy, physiology, and microbiology from my undergrad and then an introduction to the patient interview/physical exam. All in just three weeks. These classes gave me a better appreciation for my undergraduate classes, not gonna lie.

So that’s all I have for now on the first little bit of our program. Being two months in I do want to make sure you know I am VERY glad I chose Elon University for this epic journey that is PA school.

